Canadian Military History Gateway
Date > 1600 > 1640-1649 > 1645
Subject > Strategy and Tactics
The Saint-Louis forts and châteaux site is complex. It consists of three elements: the forts, châteaux and gardens. There were a total of four forts and two Châteaux
Work on the fort started in 1642, and it stood until demolished in 1672. While details are lacking, the fort is known to have been built on a square plan with bastions at each corner. This 19th century drawing shows its possible appearance.
Join a French soldier, Vadeboncoeur, and explore the history of Quebec's defense and fortifications. This journey into the past will have your students "defending Québec" during three different periods: 1645, 1690 and 1745.
This historic site celebrates the rich communications and military history of Signal Hill and sits amidst a spectacular view of St. John's and the sea.
The Iroquois, well equipped and well trained in the use of firearms, constantly attack newly-built Fort Richelieu. The French are forced to abandon this strategically vital fort.