From One World War to Another (1919-43)

Canada’s Military between the Wars

Canadian Mobilization

Having declared war on Germany, Canada joined in "the phoney war." Camp Valcartier was reactivated and, unlike the situation in 1914-18, would operate year-round as the mobilization and training centre for the units of the 5th Military District and as a training centre for infantry generally. Between 1933 and 1936, through a relief programme for the jobless, its infrastructures had been greatly improved. Between 1939 and 1946 numerous "temporary" buildings would be erected - many of them to last more than 30 years.

With the disaster of Dunkirk in June 1940, Canada passed the National Resources Mobilization Act, which, among other things, called for 98,000 conscripts for territorial defence. On the overseas front, the 1939 decision to use only volunteers was upheld, but it must be stressed that 64,000 of those conscripts would volunteer for combat, more than 58,000 of them in the army.

Between 1939 and 1945 more than a million Canadian men and women, or one adult in 12, would don a uniform. During the six years of war 41 percent of men aged 18 to 45 served in the Canadian armed forces in some capacity. Germany's defeat left Canada the world's fourth military power, after the United States, the Soviet Union and the United Kingdom. In some fields, such as various types of merchant vessels and synthetic rubber, Canadian production was proportionately greater than that of the U.S. This large-scale military commitment resonates to this day. Canada still has approximately 400,000 living veterans, the vast majority of them, including tens of thousands of disabled, having served in the Second World War. In 1994 one Canadian in three over the age of 65 was a war veteran.

D'une guerre mondiale à une autre (1919-1943)

L'entre-deux-guerres militaire au Canada

La mobilisation au Canada

Après avoir déclaré la guerre à l'Allemagne, notre pays s'installe lui aussi dans la drôle de guerre. La base de Valcartier est remise à contribution. Contrairement à 1914-1918, elle fonctionnera toute l'année comme centre de mobilisation et d'instruction des unités du 5e District militaire, et centre d'instruction de l'infanterie en général. Entre 1933 et 1936, grâce au programme de secours aux hommes sans travail, les infrastructures ont été très améliorées. De 1939 à 1946, on y construira de nombreux bâtiments « temporaires » qui dureront souvent plus de 30 ans.

Dès le désastre de Dunkerque, en juin 1940, le Canada vote la Loi de la mobilisation des ressources nationales qui apportera, entre autres choses, 98 000 conscrits pour la défense territoriale. En ce qui concerne l'outremer, la décision de 1939 de n'y employer que des volontaires est maintenue. Disons tout de suite que 64 000 conscrits se porteront volontaires pour les combats dont plus de 58 000 dans l'Armée de terre.

Entre 1939 et 1945, plus d'un million d'hommes et de femmes auront porté l'uniforme, soit environ un habitant sur douze. Durant les six années de guerre, 41 pour cent des hommes de 18 à 45 ans ont servi, d'une façon ou d'une autre, dans les Forces armées canadiennes. À la suite de la défaite de l'Allemagne, le Canada est la quatrième puissance militaire après les États-Unis, l'URSS et la Grande-Bretagne. Dans quelques domaines, comme certains types de navires marchands ou le caoutchouc synthétique, la production canadienne est proportionnellement supérieure à celle des États-Unis. Un engagement militaire d'une telle amplitude a encore des répercussions de nos jours. Ainsi, il reste environ 400 000 anciens combattants canadiens. La vaste majorité d'entre eux est issue de la Deuxième Guerre mondiale, dont des dizaines de milliers de mutilés. Un Canadien sur trois de plus de 65 ans était un vétéran en 1994.