Unending Seige

Vimy Ridge

Canadian Preparations and the Assault on the Ridge

Motorcycle courier, Canadian Signal Corps, 1917

Caption: Motorcycle courier, Canadian Signal Corps, 1917

The Canadians made painstaking preparations for their great initial attack of 1917, which would, for the first time, involve all four of their divisions at once. This attack would benefit from the lessons learned from the French, who had developed the art of using their infantry in small groups to occupy points of resistance left behind by the first assault waves, especially concreted machine-gun nests that were resistant to shells and surrounded by trenches and barbed wire. From the British they borrowed the judicious use of accurate barrage bombardments to open the way for the infantry. They reinforced these techniques with counterbattery activity that would enable them to target 176 of the 212 German guns that could smash the Canadian offensive. In all these areas, the Canadians readied themselves with precision.

The troops would be "shown" the ground by means of montages prepared in the rear, and they would be trained to recognize and take their assigned objectives. They would draw on all the technical advances the war had spawned since 1914. These would include rifle-launched grenades and combustion-fuse shells (improving on a French invention) that exploded on striking the ground and destroyed barbed wire, not to mention aerial reconnaissance of enemy batteries and the approach and destruction of well-defended positions through tunnels hollowed in the chalk typical of this region.

The assault began on 20 March 1917 with a bombardment of the German position that was intensified until 2 April and then stabilized. The Canadians at Vimy had 480 18-pound guns, 138 4.5-inch howitzers and 245 heavy guns and howitzers; they also had all the shells they needed, which had not been the case with the British troops fighting on the Somme a year earlier. The British also manufactured 234 other guns, including 132 heavy guns available to the Canadians. This gave them a piece of heavy artillery for every 20 metres of front, providing far superior coverage to what they had on the Somme. Trench raids and flights over the German lines now proliferated along a front more than six kilometres long. Before dawn on Easter Sunday, 9 April 1917, under a blizzard blowing in the Germans' eyes, the offensive opened. Given the features of this front, the assailants would have almost four kilometres to cross on the right before reaching their objective but only 650 metres on the left, where the greatest heights were located and where the fighting promised to be the hardest.

The bombardment that had been stationary since 2 April was now succeeded by a rolling barrage supported by steady machine-gun fire into the German lines. The infantry stuck so close to the barrage that they were on top of the first German positions even before the defenders had come out of their shelters. Surviving points of resistance were left to be dealt with by the units trained for this purpose, including the 22nd Battalion. The enemy artillery saw its usual activity largely frustrated by a highly effective Canadian counterbattery. By 8 am the 3rd Division had reached its objective just across from Vimy. The 1st and 2nd divisions would take their positions just as quickly. Only the 4th, across from Hill 145, would be bogged down until 12 April before capturing this high ground. On the night of 12/13 April the remaining Germans finally fell back.

Un siège interminable

La crête de Vimy

Les préparatifs des Canadiens et l'assaut sur la crête

Estafette en motocyclette du Corps canadien des signaleurs, 1917

Légende: Estafette en motocyclette du Corps canadien des signaleurs, 1917

Les Canadiens préparent de façon minutieuse leur grand assaut initial de 1917 qui doit, pour la première fois, impliquer simultanément leurs quatre divisions. L'attaque va profiter des leçons apprises auprès des Français qui ont développé l'art d'utiliser leurs fantassins en petits groupes pour s'occuper de certains points de résistance ennemis dépassés par leurs premières vagues d'assaut, en particulier les nids de mitrailleuse bétonnés, résistant aux obus et entourés de tranchées et de barbelés. Des Britanniques, ils empruntent l'utilisation judicieuse de l'artillerie de barrage précise ouvrant la route aux fantassins. Ils renforceront ces techniques par un travail de contrebatterie qui leur permettra de repérer 176 des 212 canons allemands qui pourraient briser l'offensive canadienne. Dans tous les domaines d'ailleurs, les Canadiens se prépareront avec précision.

On fera « voir » le terrain aux troupes grâce à des montages préparés à l'arrière et on les préparera à reconnaître et à prendre les objectifs assignés. Tous les progrès techniques apportés par la guerre depuis 1914 seront mis à contribution. Cela ira des grenades tirées par des fusils jusqu'aux obus à fusée à combustion (amélioration d'une invention française) qui explosent en touchant le sol et qui détruisent les barbelés, en passant par le repérage aérien des batteries ennemies et par l'approche et la destruction de positions bien défendues grâce à des tunnels creusés dans le calcaire particulier à cette région.

L'ouverture de l'attaque a lieu le 20 mars 1917, avec le début d'un bombardement des positions allemandes qui s'intensifie jusqu'au 2 avril, pour se stabiliser ensuite. À Vimy, les Canadiens disposent de 480 canons de 18 livres, de 138 obusiers de 4,5 pouces, ainsi que de 245 canons lourds et obusiers : de plus, ils ont tous les obus nécessaires, ce qui n'était pas le cas pour les troupes britanniques qui, un an plus tôt, se battaient sur la Somme. Les Britanniques mettent à leur disposition 234 autres canons, dont 132 lourds. Ainsi, les Canadiens ont une pièce d'artillerie lourde tous les 20 mètres de front, une couverture bien supérieure à celle de la Somme. Raids terrestres et vols au-dessus des lignes allemandes se multiplient sur les six kilomètres et plus de la largeur du front. Avant l'aube du dimanche de Pâques du 9 avril 1917, sous un blizzard poussé dans les yeux des Allemands, l'offensive débute. À cause des caractéristiques du front, les attaquants auront presque quatre kilomètres à franchir sur la droite avant d'atteindre leur objectif et 650 mètres seulement sur la gauche où, cependant, se trouvent les hauteurs les plus importantes et où le combat s'annonce le plus difficile.

Au bombardement, stationnaire depuis le 2 avril, succède un barrage roulant, appuyé de tirs ininterrompus de mitrailleuses sur les lignes allemandes. Les fantassins collent si bien au barrage qu'ils sont sur les premières positions allemandes avant que les défenseurs soient sortis de leurs abris. Les points de résistance qui n'ont pas cédé sont dépassés pour être traités par les unités prévues à cet effet, dont le 22e bataillon. L'artillerie ennemie voit son action habituelle largement contrecarrée par la contrebatterie canadienne, très efficace. Dès 8 heures, la 3e Division a atteint son objectif, juste en face de Vimy. Les 1re et 2e Divisions assureront leurs positions aussi rapidement. Seule la 4e, face à la cote 145, piétinera jusqu'au 12 avril, avant de se saisir de cette hauteur. Dans la nuit du 12 au 13 avril, les Allemands qui restent se replient enfin.