The Issues Crystallize

Canada and the Imperial Connection

Imperial Defence Concepts

Trooper, 19th Alberta Dragoons, circa 1912

Caption: Trooper, 19th Alberta Dragoons, circa 1912

In 1909 a special conference on imperial defence dealt with naval and military problems in terms of the basic principle of standardization. As far as possible, this uniformity was to extend from the make-up of units to the weapons they used, including their transportation. Here we find complete Canadian autonomy coupled with the quick and easy integration of Canada's forces should they have to rally to Britain's defence.

Although less obvious than it had been at the turn of the century, imperial centralization was nonetheless coming to pass. After the 1909 meeting, some British officers came to Canada to take part in the labours of the Canadian section of the general headquarters whose creation had been approved in 1907. At the same time, some Canadian officers travelled to Britain to familiarize themselves with British methods. Mobilization plans were drawn up both for defending Canada and for sending an expeditionary force overseas to assist London. Neither Laurier's resistance to all centralization nor the largely ineffectual trumpetings for imperial federation would impede this quiet integration, which would form a single school of thought. Despite the advantages of this development, factors that might deprive the Canadian soldier of his distinctive character were already in evidence. Rather than preparing for the defence of their own country - conducting winter manoeuvres, for example - Canadian militiamen were rehearsing to be as British as possible.

The Colonial Conference of 1911 revolved around the coronation of George V Relegated to second rank, military discussions focused on details arising from implementation of the decisions of 1907 and especially 1909. Beginning in 1912, the imperial general headquarters absorbed Canadian and Australian officers within the Dominions Section, an initiative that saw Canada more fully involved in the defence of the British Empire. In 1914, Canada, without being fully aware of it, was poised to expand an effort that would far exceed the wishes of its most fervent imperialists. On the one hand it was moving towards greater autonomy, while on the other hand the various colonial conferences that had been taking place since 1902 had helped to cement the Anglo-Canadian rapprochement.

Additional Images

Officer, 3rd New Brunswick Regiment, Canadian Garrison Artillery, circa 1912
Sergeant, Royal Canadian Horse Artillery, circa 1912
Officer, The Prince Edward Island Light Horse, circa 1912
Trooper, The 17th Duke of York's Royal Canadian Hussars (Argenteuil Rangers), circa 1912
Private, 10th Regiment Royal Grenadiers, circa 1912
Sergeant, 53rd Sherbrooke Regiment, circa 1912
Rifleman, 8th Regiment 'Royal Rifles', circa 1912
Sergeant, The Royal Canadian Engineers, circa 1912
Officer, 72nd Regiment, Seaforth Highlanders of Canada, Vancouver, circa 1912
Sergeant, 66th Regiment 'Princess Louise Fusiliers', circa 1912
Officer, 22nd Saskatchewan Light Horse, circa 1912
Officer, 2nd Regiment, Queen's Own Rifles of Canada, circa 1912
Officer, 38th Regiment (Dufferin Rifles of Canada), circa 1912
Private, Canadian Army Service Corps, circa 1912
Sergeant Piper, 48th Regiment (Highlanders), circa 1912
Sergeant, 1st Regiment The Grenadier Guards of Canada, circa 1912
Sergeant, 3rd Montreal Battery, Royal Canadian Artillery, circa 1912
Officer, 7th Regiment (Fusiliers), circa 1912
Private, The 79th Cameron Highlanders of Canada, circa 1912
Officer, 64th Châteauguay and Beauharnois Regiment, circa 1912

La cristallisation des enjeux

Le Canada et le lien impérial

Les concepts de la défense de l'Empire

Cavalier du 19th Alberta Dragoons vers 1912

Légende: Cavalier du 19th Alberta Dragoons vers 1912

En 1909, une conférence spéciale sur la défense de l'Empire traite de problèmes navals et militaires ayant pour principe de base l'uniformisation. Dans la mesure du possible, cette uniformité doit aller de la composition des unités jusqu'aux armes utilisées, en passant par leur transport. D'une part, on trouve une autonomie canadienne totale et, d'autre part, l'intégration rapide et facile de nos forces si elles devaient se porter à la défense de l'Angleterre.

Moins évidente qu'au tournant du siècle, la centralisation impériale est pourtant en voie de réalisation. Après la réunion de 1909, des officiers britanniques viennent au Canada pour participer aux travaux de la section canadienne de l'état-major général dont la création a été approuvée en 1907. Des officiers canadiens vont en Grande-Bretagne se familiariser avec les méthodes anglaises. Des plans de mobilisation sont préparés, soit pour défendre le Canada, soit pour envoyer un corps expéditionnaire outre-mer, à la rescousse de Londres. Ni la résistance de Laurier à toute centralisation, ni les cris sans grande suite en vue d'une fédération impériale n'empêcheront cette tranquille intégration qui conduit à une seule école de pensée. Malgré les avantages de ce développement, les éléments qui risquent de priver le soldat canadien de son caractère distinctif sont déjà en place. Plutôt que de se préparer à défendre son pays, en faisant des manœuvres d'hiver, par exemple, le milicien canadien s'exerce à devenir aussi anglais que possible.

La conférence impériale de 1911 se réunit autour du couronnement d'un roi. Reléguées au second rang, les discussions militaires se concentrent sur des détails découlant de l'implantation des décisions de 1907 et, surtout, de 1909. À compter de 1912, l'état-major général impérial intègre des officiers canadiens et australiens au sein de sa section des dominions, une initiative qui engage le Canada plus à fond dans la défense de l'Empire britannique. En 1914, sans en être pleinement conscient, le Canada est prêt à fournir un effort qui dépassera de loin les vues des plus ardents impérialistes. D'un côté, il marche vers une plus grande autonomie, de l'autre, les différentes conférences coloniales ou impériales, qui ont eu lieu depuis 1902, ont contribué au resserrement anglo-canadien.

Images additionnelles

Officier du 3rd New Brunswick Regiment, Canadian Garrison Artillery vers 1912
Sergent du Royal Canadian Horse Artillery vers 1912
Officier du Prince Edward Island Light Horse vers 1912
Cavalier de The 17th Duke of York's Royal Canadian Hussars (Argenteuil Rangers) vers 1912
Soldat du 10th Regiment Royal Grenadiers vers 1912
Sergent du 53rd Sherbrooke Regiment vers 1912
Carabinier du 8th Regiment «Royal Rifles» vers 1912
Sergent du Corps royal du génie canadien vers 1912
Officier du 72nd Regiment, Seaforth Highlanders of Canada, à Vancouver vers 1912
Sergent du 66th Regiment «Princess Louise Fusiliers» vers 1912
Officier du 22nd Saskatchewan Light Horse vers 1912
Officier du 2nd Regiment, Queen's Own Rifles of Canada vers 1912
Officier du 38th Regiment (Dufferin Rifles of Canada) vers 1912
Soldat du Corps de l'intendance canadien vers 1912
Sergent cornemuseur du 48th Regiment (Highlanders) vers 1912
Sergent du 1st Regiment The Grenadier Guards of Canada vers 1912
Sergent de la 3rd Montreal Battery, Artillerie royale canadienne vers 1912
Officier du 7th Regiment (Fusiliers) vers 1912
Soldat de The 79th Cameron Highlanders of Canada vers 1912
Officier du 64e Régiment de Châteauguay et Beauharnois vers 1912