A Semi-Autonomous Defence (1871-1898)

The Defence of Canada by Canadians

The Regular Cavalry And Infantry

In the meantime, however, the Militia Act underwent a number of changes, the most important of which were the amendments of 1883. A central section of the act reads as follows:

It being necessary in consequence of the withdrawal of Imperial regular troops, to provide for the care and protection of forts, magazines, armaments, warlike stores and such like service, also to assure the establishment of Schools for Military Instruction in connection with corps enlisted for continuous service, it shall be lawful for Her Majesty to raise... one troop of cavalry, three batteries of artillery (of which two shall be `A" and "B" Batteries of artillery now embodied) and not more than three companies of infantry - the whole strength of which several corps shall not exceed seven hundred and fifty men. 2

Thus it was that a cavalry school corps appeared in Quebec City (to become the Royal Canadian Dragoons) along with another infantry corps (the Royal Canadian Regiment), which would maintain companies in Fredericton, Saint John and Toronto. These formations would have an approximate strength of one commanding officer, three officers and 150 non-commissioned instructors and men. In 1885 a mounted infantry school was established in Winnipeg; it would later take the name Lord Strathconas Horse.

This restructuring exercise gave the permanent force a stable nucleus, a fact the minister of the day, Adolphe Caron, tried to downplay, emphasizing instead the instructional duties performed by these regular soldiers. Caron explained that this move would help strengthen the civil government, thus enabling it to enforce its laws, forestall domestic disturbances and repel potential attackers. It can be seen that between 1867 and 1883 the main focus of the defence programme shifted from external to domestic threats.

In 1886, following the problems with Louis Riel in the North-West, the Militia Act was amended once again to raise the number of infantry companies from three to five and the total strength of the regular force from 750 to 1,000 men.

Une défense quasi autonome (1871-1898)

La défense du Canada par les Canadiens

La cavalerie et l'infanterie régulières

Mais, entre-temps, la loi de la Milice aura été modifiée en plusieurs occasions. Le changement de 1883 sera le plus important. Citonsen un article central.

« Étant donné qu'il est nécessaire, par suite du départ des troupes régulières impériales d'assurer la protection et l'entretien des forts, des magasins, de l'armement, des dépôts de matériel de guerre et services assimilés, et d'assurer la création d'écoles d'instruction militaire relativement aux Corps recrutés pour le service permanent, il est légitime pour Sa Majesté de lever... une troupe de cavalerie, trois batteries d'artillerie (dont les deux Batteries A et B déjà organisées) et pas plus de trois compagnies d'infanterie, le total des effectifs de toutes ces unités ne devant pas dépasser 750 hommes 2... »

C'est ainsi qu'un corps école de cavalerie apparaît à Québec (qui deviendra le Royal Canadian Dragoons) et un autre d'infanterie (Royal Canadian Régiment), qui aura des compagnies à Fredericton, Saint-Jean et Toronto. Celles-ci auront approximativement l'effectif suivant : 1 commandant, 3 officiers et 150 sous-officiers instructeurs et hommes. En 1885, une école d'infanterie à cheval est mise sur pied à Winnipeg (qui prendra plus tard le nom de Lord Strathcona's Horse).

Cette réorganisation donne un solide noyau à la force permanente, un fait que le ministre de l'époque, Adolphe Caron, tente d'atténuer, insistant plutôt sur la vocation d'instruction qu'auront ces soldats réguliers. Caron explique que le gouvernement civil sera ainsi renforcé, qu'il pourra faire exécuter ses lois, prévenir des troubles intérieurs et repousser d'éventuelles attaques. Comme on le voit, entre 1867 et 1883, la préoccupation première de l'effort de défense est passée de la menace venue de l'extérieur à celle venant de l'intérieur.

En 1886, après les troubles dans le Nord-Ouest, avec Louis Riel, la Loi de la Milice est à nouveau changée faisant passer le nombre de compagnies d'infanterie de trois à cinq et celui de l'effectif total de la force régulière de 750 à 1 000 hommes.