The British Armed Forces

The British Army

A Very Mixed Organization

A general accompanied by his staff, Montreal, circa 1865

Caption: A general accompanied by his staff, Montreal, circa 1865

Prior to the mid-nineteenth century, the structure of the British army was relatively archaic. It did of course have a good reputation in Great Britain, but to a lesser degree than its navy did. There was curious overlapping of certain tasks and there were many peculiar practices.

Confusion was already felt at the top of the chain of command, because even in Parliament there was a Secretary for War and a Secretary at War. The latter was a Member of Parliament responsible for ensuring that the House voted the required budget. The actual Minister was the Secretary for War, who was also, beginning in 1801, responsible for managing the colonies. Army headquarters was in the King's Horse Guards building in London. It was there that the Secretary for War, the Commander-in-Chief, the Adjutant-General and the other staff officers worked. A variety of other organizations governed the army, such as the Board of General Officers, which consisted of half a dozen generals as well as the Adjutant-General. There was also a medical board, a pensions board, a financial audit board and various other organizations.

Immediately under this administrative level came the cavalry and infantry regiments. A cavalry regiment could have from three to five squadrons, with two companies in each squadron. An infantry regiment generally consisted of a single battalion of 10 companies, eight fusiliers and two Flank companies, which were elite companies. The grenadiers took the right flank on the line, the light infantry the left. The number of soldiers varied considerably, depending on the period and the regiment.

Some functions, though, did not fall under the authority of Army Headquarters. Thus the Treasury exercised some financial control over the army through its civil servants in uniform, who belonged to the Commissariat Department. The officers in the Commissariat Department accompanied the army on all its movements, assuming responsibility for rations, transportation and, particularly in Canada, barracks. The Commissariat was not, however, the only organization to procure supplies for the army: the personnel of the Quartermaster General and the Storekeeper General were also authorized to do so.

Additional Images

King's and Regimental Colours, 41st Regiment of Foot, 1802-1815

L'organisation des Forces armées britanniques

L'armée britannique

Une organisation complexe

Un général et son état-major, Montréal, vers 1865

Légende: Un général et son état-major, Montréal, vers 1865

Avant le milieu du XIXe siècle, la structure de l'armée de terre britannique est, d'une certaine façon, relativement archaïque. Certes, elle jouit d'une bonne réputation en Grande-Bretagne, mais à un moindre degré que la marine, et son organisation comporte de curieux dédoublements de tâches et de nombreux cas d'exception.

Le désordre se fait déjà sentir au plus haut de la hiérarchie, puisque, au Parlement même siègent un secrétaire « de la Guerre » et un secrétaire « à la Guerre » ! Ce dernier est un député chargé de veiller à ce que la Chambre vote les crédits requis, le véritable ministre étant le secrétaire de la Guerre, qui devient également responsable de la gestion des colonies à partir de 1801. Le quartier général de l'armée loge à Londres, dans l'édifice de la garde à cheval du roi, endroit connu sous le nom de «Horse Guards ». C'est là que s'affairent le secrétaire de la Guerre, le commandant en chef, l'adjudant général et les autres officiers de l'état-major. Divers autres organismes régissent aussi l'armée, tel le Board of General Officers, ou conseil des généraux, qui rassemble une demi-douzaine de ces derniers, ainsi que l'adjudant général. On y trouve aussi un conseil médical, une commission des pensions, un bureau de vérification financière et d'autres organismes du même ordre.

Sous ce premier palier administratif viennent en premier lieu les régiments de cavalerie et d'infanterie. Un régiment de cavalerie peut compter entre trois et cinq escadrons, chaque escadron comportant lui-même deux compagnies. Un régiment d'infanterie se compose généralement d'un seul bataillon qui compte dix compagnies, huit de fusiliers et deux « de flanc », ces dernières constituant les compagnies d'élite ; celle des grenadiers occupe le flanc droit de la ligne, et celle d'infanterie légère le flanc gauche. Le nombre de soldats varie considérablement selon l'époque et le régiment.

Certaines fonctions échappent néanmoins à l'autorité du quartier général. Ainsi, le conseil du Trésor exerce un certain contrôle financier sur l'armée par l'entremise de ses fonctionnaires en uniforme appartenant au corps du Commissariat. Les officiers de ce corps accompagnent l'armée dans tous ses déplacements, s'occupant des vivres, du transport et, particulièrement au Canada, du casernement. Le Commissariat n'est cependant pas seul à fournir des provisions à l'armée, car le personnel du Quartermaster General, ou quartier-maître général, ainsi que celui du Storekeeper General, ou garde-magasin général, sont aussi habilités à le faire.

Images additionnelles

Étendards du Roi et drapeau régimentaire, 41e Régiment de fantassins, 1802-1815