The Napoleonic Wars and the War of 1812

The 1814 Invasion of Canada

Bloody Exchanges at Chippawa and Lundy's Lane

Officer, 100th Regiment of Foot (HRH the Prince Regent's County of Dublin Regiment), circa 1812

Caption: Officer, 100th Regiment of Foot (HRH the Prince Regent's County of Dublin Regiment), circa 1812

Brown, an excellent strategist, avoided attacking Fort Niagara and forced the British to deploy along the border. On July 3 he had his army cross into Canada on both sides of Fort Erie, which, defended as it was by barely two companies of British soldiers, surrendered immediately. When the news reached him, British General Phineas Riall left Fort George with 1,800 men, 1,500 of whom were regular soldiers. They met the Americans on July 5 at Chippewa, with the British attacking General Winfield Scott and his 2,000 men. Riall moved the 1St, 8th and 100th regiments forward towards the enemy lines. But this time the usual rout did not occur. The American line held in perfect order, and its salvos, which were well organized, rapid and murderous, forced the British to retreat. Scott then moved his regiments forward, and the British were defeated, losing more than 500 men, with 148 dead, against only 48 dead and 227 wounded for the Americans.

The defeat worried General Gordon Drummond, in command of the British troops in Upper Canada. Of the three regiments engaged in the battle, two - the 1St, the famous Royal Scots, and the 8th, the King's - were famed for their bravery and excellence. Therefore something had obviously changed on the American side. Drummond immediately requested reinforcements from Lower Canada and had troops brought in from Kingston to Fort George and to York (Toronto).

On July 25 Riall's and Scott's brigades met once again at Lundy's Lane, not far from Niagara Falls, and engaged in the bloodiest battle of the war. Reinforcements reached both camps soon afterwards, along with commanding generals Drummond and Brown. The battle raged fiercely even after sundown. In spite of the smoke, which masked the moonlight, the battalions attacked and counterattacked through the evening, in the glare of musket and cannon fire. Generals Riall, Drummond, Brown and Scott were all seriously injured. The battle ended after midnight with both armies at the end of their tether. Losses were heavy: 853 Americans and 878 British were missing, but the battle was a draw. As the British continued to receive reinforcements, unlike the Americans, General Ripley ordered a retreat to Fort Erie.

Additional Images

Officer, Glengarry Regiment of Fencible Light Infantry, 1812-1816
Soldier,  1st Regiment of Foot (Royal Scots), 1813-1816

Les guerres Napoléoniennes et la guerre de 1812

L'invasion du Canada de 1814

Engagements sanglants à Chippawa et Lundy's Lane

Officier, 100e Régiment de fantassins (Régiment du comté de Dublin de SAR le prince régent), vers 1812

Légende: Officier, 100e Régiment de fantassins (Régiment du comté de Dublin de SAR le prince régent), vers 1812

Fin stratège, Brown évite d'attaquer le fort Niagara et force les Britanniques à se déployer le long de la frontière. Le 3 juillet, il fait traverser son armée au Canada de chaque côté du fort Érié qui, défendu par à peine deux compagnies de soldats britanniques, se rend immédiatement. En apprenant cette nouvelle, le général britannique Phineas Riall part du fort George avec 1 800 hommes, dont 1 500 soldats réguliers. La rencontre a lieu le 5 juillet, à Chippawa, alors que les Britanniques se heurtent au général Winfield Scott à la tête d'environ 2 000 hommes. Riall fait avancer les ler, 8e et 100e régiments vers les lignes ennemies. Mais, cette fois, la débandade habituelle ne se produit pas. Parfaitement disposée, la ligne américaine tient bon et ses salves, à la fois ordonnées, rapides et très meurtrières, forcent les Britanniques à se retirer. Scott fait alors avancer ses régiments et les Britanniques sont vaincus, perdant plus de 500 hommes dont 148 tués, contre seulement 48 morts et 227 blessés chez les Américains.

Cette défaite ne manque pas d'inquiéter le général Gordon Drummond qui commande les troupes britanniques dans le Haut-Canada. Parmi les trois régiments engagés dans la bataille, deux - le 1er, le réputé Royal Scotts, et le 8e, celui du roi - sont des corps renommés pour leur bravoure et leur excellence. Quelque chose a donc manifestement changé du côté américain. Drummond demande immédiatement des renforts du Bas-Canada et fait venir des troupes de Kingston au fort George et à York (Toronto).

Le 25 juillet, les brigades de Riall et de Scott se rencontrent de nouveau à Lundy's Lane, non loin des chutes du Niagara, et engagent la bataille la plus sanglante de la guerre. Des renforts arrivent bientôt dans les deux camps, de même que les généraux en chef Drummond et Brown. La bataille se poursuit avec acharnement peu après le coucher du soleil. Malgré la fumée qui masque le clair de lune, les bataillons attaquent et contre-attaquent dans la nuit, éclairés par les lueurs des décharges de fusils et de canons. Les généraux Riall, Drummond, Brown et Scott subissent tous de graves blessures. Le combat cesse après minuit, les deux armées étant à bout de force. Le bilan s'avère lourd : 853 Américains et 878 Britanniques manquent à l'appel, mais l'issue de la bataille est nulle. Cependant, les Britanniques continuent de recevoir des renforts, contrairement aux Américains. Le général Ripley ordonne donc la retraite vers le fort Erie.

Images additionnelles

Officier, Glengarry Regiment of Fencible Light Infantry, 1812-1816
Soldat, 1er Régiment de fantassins (Royal Scots), 1813-1816