The Military Empire

New England

An Unsatisfactory Response

A soldier of the Compagnies franches de la Marine dressed for an expedition, mid-18th century

Caption: A soldier of the Compagnies franches de la Marine dressed for an expedition, mid-18th century

The governor of Massachusetts reinforced his frontier defences by building a number of forts. Four hundred and forty-five men were mobilized to guard them, and these forces were increased in 1746 by another 200. In order to heighten the hostility of the Amerindians, he instituted a system of bounties for the scalps of Frenchmen or their allies, including those of "females or males under 12 years of age." 138 However, this deplorable policy did not have the expected results, and in August a large expedition led by Commandant Rigaud de Vaudreuil razed Fort Massachusetts (now Adams, Massachusetts).

Meanwile, the governor of New York was also taking action. He invited militiamen from New Jersey, Connecticut and Maryland to join with New Yorkers in an attack on Fort Saint-Frédéric. The troops were finally marshalled in late 1746 a few kilometres north of Albany. However, a number of disagreements, which were reflected in the New York Gazette, regarding payment for the costs of the expedition and the embezzlement said to have occurred in relation to the purchase of blue coats and red breeches for the 500 New Jersey volunteers, caused the entire project to collapse.

While the militiamen from the British colonies retreated, the raids by the Canadians and their allies only increased. Fort No. 4 (today Charlestown, New Hampshire) and the new Fort Massachusetts, rebuilt in May, managed to resist, but the garrison of Fort Clinton (near Easton, New York) was virtually decimated by Luc de La Corne de Saint-Luc leading a party of about 20 soldiers and militiamen and 200 Amerindians. Several villages between Deerfield, Massachusetts and White River (in the region of Hartford, Vermont) had to be abandoned. Only the peace treaty signed in Europe on October 7, 1748 brought some respite to the colonies after the news finally arrived in Boston on May 10, 1749. The Americans felt a certain relief, although the problem of their inability to defend their borders against raids from Canada remained unresolved.

L'Empire militaire

La Nouvelle-Angleterre

Une réplique déplorable

Un soldat des Compagnies franches de la Marine habillé pour aller en expédition, milieu du XVIIIe siècle

Légende: Un soldat des Compagnies franches de la Marine habillé pour aller en expédition, milieu du XVIIIe siècle

Le gouverneur du Massachusetts renforcera la défense de ses frontières en y établissant des forts. Aux 445 hommes qu'il mobilise pour servir de garnisons, s'ajoute en 1746 un renfort de 200 autres. Pour exacerber quelque peu la haine des Amérindiens, il instaure un système de récompenses basé sur l'obtention de scalps de Français ou de leurs alliés, dont ceux de « femelles ou mâles ayant moins de douze ans » 138. Cette piètre politique ne donnera pas les résultats escomptés. En août, une importante expédition, sous le commandement de Rigaud de Vaudreuil, rase le fort Massachusetts (aujourd'hui Adams, Massachusetts).

Entre temps, le gouverneur de New York ne reste pas inactif. Il invite les miliciens du New Jersey, du Connecticut et du Maryland à joindre les siens pour prendre le fort Saint-Frédéric. Les troupes sont finalement rassemblées à la fin de 1746 à quelques kilomètres au nord d'Albany, mais de multiples malentendus, qui ont leurs échos dans le New York Gazette, au sujet du paiement des frais de l'expédition et d'une certaine « peculation » qui entoure l'achat des habits bleus et des culottes rouges des 500 volontaires du New Jersey, provoquent l'effondrement du projet.

Pendant que les miliciens des colonies britanniques font marche arrière, les raids des Canadiens et de leurs alliés continuent de plus belle. Le fort No 4 (aujourd'hui Charlestown, New Hampshire) et le nouveau fort Massachusetts, reconstruit en mai, résistent tant bien que mal, mais la garnison du fort Clinton (près d'Easton, New York) est quasiment décimée par Luc de La Corne de Saint-Luc à la tête d'une vingtaine de militaires et de miliciens et de quelque 200 Amérindiens. Plusieurs villages entre Deerfield, Massachusetts, et White River (dans la région de Hartfort, Vermont) doivent être abandonnés. Ce sera en définitive la paix, signée en Europe le 7 octobre 1748, qui ramènera un peu de calme dans les colonies. Lorsque la nouvelle en parviendra à Boston, le 10 mai 1749, elle apportera un certain soulagement aux Américains dont le problème demeure cependant entier, puisqu'ils ne peuvent défendre leurs frontières contre les raids provenant du Canada.